The Center for Bioethics and Culture Network and the Paul Ramsey Award Nominating Committee are pleased to announce Brent Waters, D.Phil., as the recipient of the 2016 Paul Ramsey Award for Excellence in Bioethics.

Dr. Waters is the Jerre and Mary Joy Stead Professor of Christian Social Ethics, and Director of the Jerre L. and Mary Joy Center for Ethics and Values at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary in Evanston, Illinois.

C. Ben Mitchell, Ph.D., Chair of the Paul Ramsey Award Nominating Committee, said of Dr. Waters’ selection:

Professor Waters’ work is a stellar example of person-centered reflection on emerging biotechnologies and the quest for immortality. His emphasis on incarnation and persons puts him squarely in the Ramsey tradition. He is a superb candidate for this recognition.

CBC’s Paul Ramsey Institute Scholar Gilbert Meilaender, Ph.D., who is also a member of the Nominating Committee, added:

Brent Waters wears many hats: He teaches both seminary students and graduate students at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary. He directs the Stead Center for Ethics and Values at Garrett. And he has published widely in bioethics. A central characteristic of his writing is the persistence with which he grounds morality in the central teachings of the Christian faith—the incarnation and resurrection of Christ.

Dr. Waters is the author of numerous books including: This Mortal Flesh: Incarnation and Bioethics; From Human to Posthuman: Christian Theology and Technology in a Postmodern World; Reproductive Technology: Towards a Theology of Procreative Stewardship; and Dying and Death: A Resource for Christian Reflection.

Save the Date:
The Paul Ramsey Award Dinner will be held
Saturday, April 16, 2016
at the Diablo Country Club in Diablo, CA. Details forthcoming.


Who was Paul Ramsey?

Paul Ramsey is regarded by many as one of the most important ethicists of the twentieth century. He was a distinguished writer on bioethics a generation ago, and served as Harrington Spear Paine Professor of Religion, Princeton University. Ramsey shines as an almost lone beacon in the general darkness of academic bioethics, since his commitment to the sanctity and dignity of human life was paramount.


About The Paul Ramsey Award

The Paul Ramsey Award honors those who have made an outstanding contribution to the bioethics discussion and are actively engaged in society; facing the challenges of the 21st century, profoundly defending the dignity of humankind, and enthusiastically embracing ethical biotechnology for the human good. The Ramsey Award is given to those who have demonstrated exemplary achievement in the field of bioethics.


Previous Ramsey Award Recipients

  • 2004: Edmund D. Pellegrino
  • 2005: Germain Grisez
  • 2006: John M. Finnis
  • 2007: William E. May
  • 2008: Albert S. Moraczewski
  • 2009: Gilbert Meilaender
  • 2010: Leon Kass
  • 2011: Luke Gormally
  • 2012: Mary Ann Glendon
  • 2013: David Solomon
  • 2014: Daniel Sulmasy
  • 2015: John F. Kilner