November 19, 2014, Pleasant Hill, CA — The Center for Bioethics and Culture Network and the Paul Ramsey Award Nominating Committee are pleased to announce John F. Kilner, Ph.D., as the recipient of the 2015 Paul Ramsey Award for Excellence in Bioethics.

Dr. Kilner is is the Franklin Forman Chair of Ethics, Professor of Bioethics and Contemporary Culture, and the Director of the Bioethics Program at Trinity International University in Deerfield, Illinois.

CBC's Paul Ramsey Institute Scholar Gilbert Meilaender, Ph.D., said of Dr. Kilner's selection:

In the important effort to think in Christian terms about bioethical concerns, John Kilner has for decades been a significant figure. Both in his own writing and, perhaps even more, in his ability to draw others into shared projects John has helped us all reflect seriously on the ways in which Christian belief can respond to issues raised by clinical and research medicine.

From 1994—2005, Dr. Kilner served as President and CEO of The Center for Bioethics & Human Dignity, and presently serves as a Senior Fellow in their Academy of Fellows. Articles he has written have appeared in such periodicals as the Hastings Center Report; Journal of Health Politics, Policy, & Law; American Journal of Public Health; Archives of Internal Medicine, Hospital Practice; and Ethics & Medicine. He has written or edited more than 20 books, including the forthcoming Dignity and Destiny: Humanity in the Image of God (2015).


The Paul Ramsey Award Dinner will be held Saturday, April 18, 2015
at the Diablo Country Club in Diablo, CA. Please save the date!


Who was Paul Ramsey?

Paul Ramsey is regarded by many as one of the most important ethicists of the twentieth century. He was a distinguished writer on bioethics a generation ago, and served as Harrington Spear Paine Professor of Religion, Princeton University. Ramsey shines as an almost lone beacon in the general darkness of academic bioethics, since his commitment to the sanctity and dignity of human life was paramount.


About The Paul Ramsey Award

The Paul Ramsey Award honors those who have made an outstanding contribution to the bioethics discussion and are actively engaged in society; facing the challenges of the 21st century, profoundly defending the dignity of humankind, and enthusiastically embracing ethical biotechnology for the human good. The Ramsey Award is given to those who have demonstrated exemplary achievement in the field of bioethics.


Previous Ramsey Award Recipients

  • 2004: Edmund D. Pellegrino
  • 2005: Germain Grisez
  • 2006: John M. Finnis
  • 2007: William E. May
  • 2008: Albert S. Moraczewski
  • 2009: Gilbert Meilaender
  • 2010: Leon Kass
  • 2011: Luke Gormally
  • 2012: Mary Ann Glendon
  • 2013: David Solomon
  • 2014: Daniel Sulmasy