The Center for Bioethics and Culture Network invites you to nominate the 2014 Paul Ramsey Award winner.

The Paul Ramsey Award honors those who have made an outstanding contribution to the discussion of bioethics and who are actively engaged in society, facing the challenges of the 21st century, profoundly defending the dignity of humankind, and enthusiastically embracing ethical biotechnology for the human good. The Ramsey Award for Excellence in Bioethics is given to those who have demonstrated exemplary achievement in the field of bioethics.

Do you have someone in mind? Make a nomination today. Tell us why you think your nominee should receive this award and our Paul Ramsey Nomination Committee will consider your entry.

Click Here to Make a Nomination

Nominations for the Ramsey Award close on September 27, 2013. The winner will be announced in late 2013. The award will be presented at the Paul Ramsey Award Dinner on March 22, 2014, in Diablo, CA.

Previous Ramsey Award Recipients

  • 2004: Edmund D. Pellegrino
  • 2005: Germain Grisez
  • 2006: John M. Finnis
  • 2007: William E. May
  • 2008: Albert S. Moraczewski
  • 2009: Gilbert Meilaender
    “All of us, Ramsey would have said, whatever our particular vocations, are part of this community of discourse. All of us are called to think, as carefully and as thoroughly as we can, about these urgent human problems.”
     — from Dr. Meilaender’s remarks at the 2009 Ramsey Award Dinner
  • 2010: Leon Kass
    “The Ramsey Award has a very special meaning for me, for Paul Ramsey was my mentor and friend, and my first teacher in bioethics. More than anyone else, he was responsible for major changes in my moral outlook and my life’s work.”
     — from Dr. Kass’ remarks at the 2010 Ramsey Award Dinner
  • 2011: Luke Gormally
    “Luke Gormally was chosen from a strong shortlist of candidates because of his outstanding contribution over many years to serious, scholarly and sound reflection on bioethical issues. He deservedly joins the distinguished array of previous Paul Ramsey Award winners, with several of whom he has engaged in very fruitful collaboration.” — John Keown, D.Phil., Ph.D.
  • 2012: Mary Ann Glendon
    “As Paul Ramsey understood . . . each time we make policy on abortion, euthanasia, and human experimentation, we are either helping to build a civilization that promotes human flourishing, or we are making the world more dangerous, especially for the weakest and most vulnerable.”
     — from Prof. Glendon’s acceptance speech.
  • 2013: David Solomon
    “Excellence in bioethics may be displayed in a variety of ways—through one’s writing, through one’s teaching, through development of institutions that bring ideas to a wider audience, through a firm public stand in support of the equal dignity of every human being. In each of these ways, as it happens, David Solomon has—always with good humor—made distinguished contributions to clarity and honesty in bioethics. He is surely a very deserving recipient of the 2013 Ramsey Award.” — Gilbert Meilaender, PhD
  • 2014: Make a Nomination

Who was Paul Ramsey?

Paul Ramsey is regarded by many as one of the most important ethicists of the twentieth century. He was a distinguished writer on bioethics a generation ago, and served as Harrington Spear Paine Professor of Religion, Princeton University. Ramsey shines as an almost lone beacon in the general darkness of academic bioethics, since his commitment to the sanctity and dignity of human life was paramount.