Dear Friend,

The Board of Directors of The Center for Bioethics and Culture cordially invites you to The Eighth Annual Paul Ramsey Award Dinner, to be held at 6:30 PM, Friday, March 25, 2011, at the Lakeside Olympic Club in San Francisco. The evening will include addresses by

  • William Hurlbut, M.D.
  • Wesley J. Smith, J.D.
  • Jennifer Lahl, CBC Founder and President
  • Luke Gormally, 2011 Paul Ramsey Award Recipient

RSVP by March 11, 2011:

Who was Paul Ramsey?

Paul Ramsey (1913–1988) is regarded by many as one of the most important ethicists of the twentieth century. He served as Harrington Spear Paine Professor of Religion, Princeton University and was a distinguished and prolific writer on bioethics during the advent of the field in the early 1960s. Ramsey’s commitment to the sanctity and dignity of human life has shone with clarity and brightness as a beacon in the general darkness of academic bioethics for the past fifty years.

What is the Paul Ramsey Award?

The Paul Ramsey Award is a project of the Center for Bioethics and Culture Network, marked with an annual event to honor those among us that have and are deeply impacting the bioethics discussion by actively equipping our society to face the challenges of the twenty-first century, profoundly defending the dignity of humankind, and enthusiastically embracing ethical biotechnology for the human good. The Paul Ramsey Award is given to those who, in the spirit of Ramsey, have demonstrated exemplary achievement in the field of bioethics

The 2011 Paul Ramsey Award
Recipient: Luke Gormally

The Paul Ramsey Award nomination committee is pleased to announce Luke Gormally as the 2011 recipient of the Paul Ramsey Award for excellence in bioethics. Professor Gormally is a leading British bioethicist and was long-time Director of The Linacre Centre. More recently, he served as Senior Research Fellow of the Centre and Research Professor of Ave Maria School of Law in Ann Arbor, Michigan; he now serves as Director Emeritus of the Anscombe Bioethics Centre. Gormally has published numerous books and papers on issues such as euthanasia and physician-assisted suicide, the sanctity of life in medicine, healthcare allocation, and reproductive ethics—taking a life affirming stand on each of these issues over a career of faithful research.

Paul Ramsey Award Winners, past and present (left to right): Edmund Pellegrino (2004), Germain Grisez (2005), John Finnis (2006), William May (2007), Albert Moraczewski (2008), Gilbert Meilaender (2009), Leon Kass (2010), Luke Gormally (2011, above)